Chapter 01 - American Samoa Cultural Institutions

Chapter 01 - American Samoa Cultural Institutions

17.0101 Creation.

There is created an American Samoa historical commission, which shall consist of 6 members who shall serve for 3-year terms and who may be reappointed.

17.0102 Appointment of members.

The Governor of American Samoa shall appoint 3 members of the commission and shall name 1 of the members so appointed chairman. The district governors of each district shall each appoint 1 member.

17.0103 Vacancies.

Any vacancy on the commission shall be filled by appointment by the official authorized to make the original appointment, and any member so appointed shall serve for the remainder of his predecessor’s unexpired term.

17.0104 Requirement of members.

Persons appointed to serve as members of the commission shall be knowledgeable in the history, customs, and traditions of the people of American Samoa.

17.0105 Meetings—Function.

The commission shall meet at such times as the chairman may designate, in order to consider and recommend to the Governor programs to promote the study of American Samoa history and culture, to disseminate knowledge and understanding of these subjects to the people of American Samoa and of the United States, and to protect and preserve historical sites and artifacts which play an important or representative role in Samoan life, past or present.